Time off

June 22, 2008

Alright I’m back from the first trip. Everything went great.  I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but my cooking was off the hook. 

To recap the the trip. When the owner arrived we took off  right away to Fish Bay. We arrived around 11 at night but you couldn’t tell because it was still sunny outside. We fished for the most part a little bit south of Fish bay and Shark Cove. We ended up getting a few Halibut, 3 Lingcod, 1 Coho Salmon, about 20 Quillback rockfish, 42 Dungeness crabs, 102 Spot prawns, and a large bucket filled with clams. I enjoyed the lingcod the most. By the way  after feeding 8 very hungry people, 42 dungeness crab yielded around 20 pds of crab meat.

We also went to the other east side of Baranof Island. It was quite a site. Since there was so much snow this winter there are waterfalls everywhere. There was a really cool waterfall right next to this little village that was where the hot springs were. The hot springs was really nice, I was able to kickback and relax.

I’m glad the trip went so well. But it was nice to get back to Sitka for some fun and relaxation. The captain rented a car, so we got to go out to some the National Parks outside of town. We also bought 5 dozen oysters fresh out the ocean. I think the were the best oysters I’ve ever had. Here are some pics of my adventure. 

2 Responses to “Time off”

  1. Seamus said

    Dude, I just got my fishing license, and have been going Halibut fishing like three times a week. I’m fishing off the coast, though, and haven’t caught shit yet! I’m gonna buy a 12-foot inflatable to take out on the bay and rule those damn fish!

  2. Natalie said

    hahaha Seamus makes me laugh. I can just see him in a little yellow inflatable on the bay…ahahaha.
    Anyway, glad to hear the Alaska trip is going really well. Your pictures are great and the crabs looked delish! Enjoy your time off.
    Tomorrow is Celeste’s b-day…13…we’re playing broom ball at the PV mall. She woulda loved to have you there…maybe you coulda knocked her on her ass with your broom or just made her cry in general. haha, I miss you, you big brute. Talk to you soon.

Leave a comment